Extended permissions allows you remove a user’s access to posts, pages or custom posts including view access through roles. Extended permissions work after the post has been loaded into WordPress. Because of this, the post’s object exists in WordPress even if all access is denied for a user. And the user will be able to see this post, page or custom post listed in it’s “All Posts” or “All Pages” screen as a row item in the list table. This row item will be in a disabled state, so that the user won’t be able to perform any actions on it.
User Post Permissions, on the other hand, prevents the posts, pages or custom posts from loading into WordPress, because of that they will not appear anywhere in your site.
So if you want to remove these disabled items from the “All Posts” or “All Pages” list table, the option is to covert your Extended Permissions data into User Post Permissions data.
There are three ways Extended Permissions gets converted into User Post Permissions.
Manually using Bulk Edit
You can convert Extended Permissions to User Post Permissions using Bulk Edit. Once you are in Bulk Edit screen, select “Extended Permissions to User Post Permissions” option.
Scheduling a CRON job in Settings
You can also schedule a CRON to regularly convert Extended Permissions to User Post Permissions in Settings.
An internal CRON
A CRON will be ran automatically every time permissions data is changed, to sync the data between Extended Permissions and User Post Permissions. You can disable this internal CRON by enabling the “Ignore Extended Permissions to User Post Permissions Data” setting.
The converted data is used internally and won’t show up as part of User Post Permissions data set in user profile.
Ignore Extended Permissions to User Post Permissions Data
If you don’t want to enable this functionality, then you could simply enable the setting called “Ignore Extended Permissions to User Post Permissions Data”. This will disable the internal CRON from scheduling and will also ignore any data already converted.